SV Camissa
    Sailing     adventures
   Home Boat & Crew Route Stories Contact
   Photogallery: Bonaire Aruba Colombia Honduras
   Guatemala Belize Panama Cocos I.
  Galapagos Marquesas Tuamotu Society I.
  Cook Islands Niue Tonga New Zealand



The Kingdom of Tonga is an archipelago in the South Pacific Ocean comprising 169 islands, 36 of them inhabited, stretching over a distance of 800 km in a north-south line. Tonga is the only sovereign monarchy among the island nations of the Pacific Ocean and has the distinction of being the only island nation in the region to have avoided formal colonization. It's the place where time stands still with their traditional way, sitting around a bowl of kava, many still weave and wear traditional mats.

Tongatapu is the main island of the Kingdom of Tonga and the location of its capital Nuku'alofa, where the Royal Palace is located on the waterfront.

The northern group of Vava'u is best known among sailors whose maze of islets and reefs provides one of the best cruising grounds in the South Pacific. It's one of the world's prime destination for watching humpback whales.

The Ha'apai Group offers deserted white beaches, vibrant reefs and is stunning for diving and snorkelling. 

The atoll Minerva Reef is the perfect stop over in the middle of water, 260 nm away from Nuku'alofa. A circle round  reef is only visible during low tide. Diving and fishing are absolutely great! Even the worst fisherman is able to catch a nice dinner!


Move your mouse over the little pictures to enlarge



Move your mouse over the little pictures to enlarge



Tonga Picture Gallery underwater:


Website Design & Photos by Isabella Effner, Copyright.